Home Page


Welcome to our Governors’ section.




I am proud to be Chair of Governors at Birkett House School. My background is in business, having held a senior position in one of the top three social housing companies in England, with direct responsibility for care and support across a range of properties and services. It was for this reason that I felt I had something to offer Birkett House and upon my retirement in 2013 I was fortunate enough to be appointed a governor at the school.


In 2017 I became the vice chair of Governors and, following the retirement of my predecessor, received the board of governors' backing to become Chair of Governors, starting from the autumn term 2018.


I never cease to be in awe of the work that the staff at Birkett House do across all sites and all Key Stages. They are so dedicated and committed to ensuring that each pupil and student receives bespoke education that follows the national curriculum but is suitable to their individual needs and ability. Their primary aim is to help students to achieve the very best they can, in a safe and caring environment, so that when they leave us they are prepared for the challenges of life outside of school.


As governors we are here to support the Head Teacher, Senior Team, teachers and ancillary staff to ensure that the school remains focused upon this objective but remains true to its statutory and regulatory obligations and continues to be financially viable in the delivery of its services.


The board of governors bring a range of experience and skill to the school with backgrounds in education, finance, business, law and as parents. Each member embraces school life and plays an important role in supporting and monitoring the performance of the school, whether through sub-committees or during classroom visits.


We are always looking to grow and develop the school’s governing body, so if you think you might have something you can bring to the school, please get in touch with the school’s admin team to arrange an informal chat.


Andy McQuaid, Chair of Governors.